Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact     Visit     Give     Charleston     Charlotte     Columbia     SAU Online     Equine Online   Apply Now   Request Information
site header image Admissions     Academics     Athletics     Equestrian     Student Life     Career Services     Registrar     Financial Aid     Alumni     About
site header image

COVID-19 Resources and Support: Online Access to Digital Books and Articles

Resources and Information for St. Andrews Community

Get Online Access to Library Sources from Off Campus

Nothing has changed regarding access to e-journals, databases, online sources available through the library databases. These continue to be available from off campus with your SAU login. You will be able to view and download articles from e-journals,, e-books, and streaming educational videos.

St. Andrews users will need to log in to the EZ Proxy using their SAU user name and password when you see the login screen.

Use the Library Homepage to access all the databases and digital content.

You can do this in many ways:

  • Select a Research Guide for your subject area and follow links - an easy way to find search in the best database!

  • Select a Database from the A-Z list (such as Proquest Central or Proquest Research) 

  • Use a WorldCAT search to locate digital content (articles, ebooks, etc)

  • Follow direct links provided by your professors.

  • Access databases through NC LIVE,

Once you see the Proxy, you will authenticate by using your SAU user name and password (same one you use for Moodle, etc.)

If you have questions, please contact Mary McDonald or Diane Hanke at the Library.

For Faculty - Create Direct LInks to Articles and Ebooks

DIRECT ACCESS TO ARTICLES: If you would like to provide direct links to articles or ebooks, you will need to create a persistent link that includes the proxy prefix. Email the article or ebook to Mary McDonald (mhm@sa.edu) for help setting up a direct link which includes the proxy prefix.

DIRECT ACCESS TO DATABASES: If you want your students to use a specific database, we can provide a direct link address you can add to your Moodle resources. Just right click on the database from the Library Home Page and copy the link address. Example: https://login.proxy156.nclive.orgproxy.sa.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/pqcentral for Proquest Central.

BOOKS FOR ONLINE COURSES:  Many of the ebooks in our databases have extended multi-use access. You can add direct links to your Moodle assignments that will connect students with an ebook in our collections.

OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES:  Articles that are freely available on the Internet can be linked to Moodle without use of a proxy.