Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact     Visit     Give     Charleston     Charlotte     Columbia     SAU Online     Equine Online   Apply Now   Request Information
site header image Admissions     Academics     Athletics     Equestrian     Student Life     Career Services     Registrar     Financial Aid     Alumni     About
site header image

DeTamble Library: More About Us

An overview of the library facilities and collection.

More About DeTamble Library

Contact Information

DeTamble Library

St. Andrews University

1700 Dogwood Mile

Laurinburg NC 28352

(910) 277 - 5049

Special Collections

Graphic Novels

2nd floor next to magazines

Amos Abrams Theatre Collection

Books and Memorabilia donated by Bill "Amos" Abrams '65

Hal and Delores Sieber Collection of Ezra Pound Materials
St. Andrews Collection

Books by St. Andrews authors or about St. Andrews, Flora Macdonald College, and Presbyterian Junior College.

Special and Rare Book Collection

Library History

The Library was constructed in 1964 through a legacy to the First Presbyterian Church of Winston-Salem from the estate of Mr. and Mrs. Fred DeTamble and funds from the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation and the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation. The 16,384 square foot structure was enlarged in 1988 to 18,168 square feet with a gift from the Pew Foundation.This included an enlarged Reference Area and a Computer Lab. The Lab later became home for the Scottish Heritage Center, and now serves as the St. Andrews Archives. In 2007, the Reynolds Reading Room was created from the R.J. Reynolds III Foundation. The Information Desk was added in 2015 and the Health Sciences Space in 2020.

Saint Andrews Archives

St. Andrews Archives (Learn More)

Library Atrium

Library Atrium