Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact     Visit     Give     Charleston     Charlotte     Columbia     SAU Online     Equine Online   Apply Now   Request Information
site header image Admissions     Academics     Athletics     Equestrian     Student Life     Career Services     Registrar     Financial Aid     Alumni     About
site header image

Biology: Articles

Find scholarly resources in biology

Best Bets for Biology Articles

Search WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat searches for articles across all available databases.

Click on the Tab to limit to Articles, then type in your terms and GO!  Or choose the Advanced Search for more options.

Once you see a list of articles, you can use the column on the left to limit by full text, peer-reviewed, date, etc. You can also select subject terms or type in more keywords on your search.

EverythingBooks/eBooksArticlesVideos

Inter-library Loan (ILL)

We can get what you need from another Library! Just ask.

If you need the full text of an article that is not available or a book or chapter, contact your Librarian. Articles can be requested from other Libraries at no cost. Send the citation information to your Librarian mhm@sa.edu or place a request directly through WorldCat.

 

Advantages

1. The searching is free.

2. It uses a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.

3. It finds citations for scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

4. Your Librarian can get you full text of articles for free using the citations you find on Google Scholar.

Disadvantages

1. Results are often NOT full-text and payment or logins are required to access information. This can be very frustrating.

2. Criteria used for selecting "scholarly" materials is not given. Search results include a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, and a variety of resources.

3. Much of the full text is available only with payment and it is often VERY EXPENSIVE.

4. Search strategies and vocabulary are not controlled like database search interfaces.

Other Science Sites

National and international scientific databases and portals