Guides & Databases: Communications: Articles

Communication Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

Types of Articles

Decide what type of articles you need based on the assignment and the Professor's Requirements for Sources:

Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly Articles are longer, in depth, and written by experts in the field. You will also find bibliographies, charts, graphs, and usually an abstract or summary of the article.
Magazine and Newspaper Articles - not always signed, shorter than peer-reviewed, written for the general public

Inter-library Loan (ILL)

We can get what you need from another Library! Just ask.

If you need the full text of an article that is not available or a book or chapter, contact your Librarian. Articles can be requested from other Libraries at no cost. Send the citation information to your Librarian allensw@sa.edu or place a request directly through WorldCat.