Guides & Databases: Chemistry: Websites

Recommended Websites - General Chemistry

ChemIDplus
Great for searching for CASRNS and really basic compound information. Links into other NLM databases that are helpful.Includes both common and uncommon compounds
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing references, properties, and spectra for over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources
eMolecules
eMolecules - a new, open access chemistry search engine that aims to provide all publicly available chemical information for free.
MIT Open Courseware: Chemistry
Free archive of dozens of undergraduate and graduate chemistry courses from MIT.
NIST Physical Reference Data
From the Physical Measurement Laboratory. Retrieve detailed data about numerous chemistry topics.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
WorldWideScience.org
global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals.

WebElements Periodic Table of the Elements
A site devoted to information about the elements with coverage suitable for both students and professional scientist.
Periodic Table-Visual Interpretation
Royal Society of Chemistryprovides clickable access to information about individual elements and groups. It provides displays of properties (such as ionization energy, density, and atomic radius) and related animations.