Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact     Visit     Give     Charleston     Charlotte     Columbia     SAU Online     Equine Online   Apply Now   Request Information
site header image Admissions     Academics     Athletics     Equestrian     Student Life     Career Services     Registrar     Financial Aid     Alumni     About
site header image

Remote Access to Library Resources: Home

Access library resources off-campus

Remote Access to Library Resources

Are you:

  • Living off campus?
  • Taking courses at SAU Charlotte, Columbia, Charleston campuses?
  • Traveling with a Team?
  • Taking online SAU classes from off campus?
  • Enrolled in the Sandhills or SAOnline Programs?
  • Enrolled in our MBA or MAEd Classes?
  • Quarantined in your room? Classes moved to Hybrid or Online?

When you are not on the St. Andrews Laurinburg Campus, you still have access to the articles, ebooks, streaming video, and other digital resources you will need for your courses.

All St. Andrews University students, faculty, and staff can access all of the library's databases and digital resources from off campus. Search from our catalog, or our many databases. You will be asked to authenticate with your Microsoft user name and password.

Logging In

Just use your Microsoft email and password to sign in when prompted. It's the same one you use for your email and Moodle. 

If you do not know your campus login and password or have any problems, please contact Computer Services 910-277-2082.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Do I need Passwords when I am on the St. Andrews Network?

Absolutely not! IP authentication recognizes you are on our network and therefore, you have immediate access.

What is off campus authentication?

When you are using remote access to view digital resources like ebooks and articles,  you will see a login screen that allows you to login with your Microsoft user name and password (SAU email and same password for Moodle, email, etc.)

DeTamble Library, in partnership with NC LIVE, licenses and pays for you to access library resources like ebooks, articles, etc.Vendors who provide the databases require users to authenticate that they are valid and current St. Andrews students, faculty, or staff. 

What resources require authentication or a password?

All databases with Library subscriptions (Proquest, Credo, etc) require authentication before you can access the resources.  This includes access to ebooks, articles, streaming video, etc. Authenticate with your Microsoft 365 login name and password.

What if I search through WorldCAT to find ebooks or articles?

You will automatically link to the Microsoft Login Screen when needed. Simply use your campus username (xyz@sa.edu) and Microsoft Office 365 password (same as email and moodle)

Who is eligible for off campus access? 

All students who are currently enrolled in any St. Andrews program in addition to all employed faculty and staff have access. You must have an sa.edu email address.

How are NC LIVE resources different from what I can get when I search the Internet with a search engine like Google?

The majority of NC LIVE's resources are not accessible to the general Internet user. These ebooks, journal articles, streaming video collections, etc. are licensed and sold as database subscriptions. You will find ebooks and scholarly information along with thousands of newspaper and magazine articles that you cannot access with an Internet search engine.

How do I access ebooks and streaming videos?

Just search our catalog, WorldCAT, and you will be directed to log with your SAU login and password to access all our database digital resources.

What is Open Access? 

Open access resources are freely available and do not require subscriptions or authentication