Guides & Databases: English as a Second Lanugage (ESL): Websites: Reading & Writing

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Includes audio pronunciation guide, thesaurus, word games, and a Learner's Dictionary for ESL students.
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online
When you know what something looks like but not what it’s called, the Visual Dictionary will help you match the word to the image.

English reading help including reading comprehension quizzes and tests, reading lesson plans, reading types and strategies.

English Reading Comprehension Skills for ESL EFL Learners
English reading help including reading comprehension quizzes and tests, reading lesson plans, reading types and strategies.
EnglishClub.com: Reading English
Includes poetry, short stories with vocabulary and comprehension quizzes, and author biographies.
U.S.A. Learns
Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community. Click on the Practice English and Reading link for intermediate-level stories and activities.

Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Basic rules of grammar, punctuation, capitalization, and writing numbers.
EnglishClub.com: English Grammar
Grammar lessons with accompanying quizzes to check your understanding. Includes a glossary of grammar terms.
EnglishClub.com: English Writing
Covers use of capital letters, spelling rules, punctuation, sentence variety, peer editing, and plagiarism.
ESL Resources from Purdue's Online Writing Lab
Resource pages and handouts for English language learners and teachers.
Ultimate Grammar Resource Guide
Resources to help you hone your grammar skills and be confident with your word usage
Writing & Citing Guide - SAU
Get Help with writing your papers and citing your sources.

American Idioms
Click on an idiom for a sample paragraph providing a definition of the idiom and an illustration of how it is used.
American Slang
Definitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.

English as a Second Lanugage (ESL): Websites: Reading & Writing