This Research Guide was based on work by Virginia Bryan, Librarian at Madison College/ Madison, Wisconsin.
Thank you Virginia!
NOTE: Due to Thanksgiving Break, DeTamble Library will close at 5 PM on Tues, Nov. 22nd and remained closed until Sun, Nov. 27th at 4 PM.
Mon - Thu: 8:30 AM – 10:00 PM
Fri: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
WELCOME TO THE RESEARCH GUIDE FOR ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS.
Are you just starting to learn English? Are you looking for ways to improve your language skills? Browse through this guide and you'll find lots of tools and resources to help you. Use the tabs across the top of the page to navigate through the different sections.
The guide focuses on reading, writing, listening comprehension, pronunciation, and grammar skills, but there are also other library resources you might like to try. If you don't find what you're looking for, please ask us.
Check out: To borrow something from the library. You will need to show your student ID card.
Information Desk: The front desk in the library where you can check out books, laptops, and other items, staple papers, get copies made, or ask for help.
Library Databases: A searchable electronic index to published articles, ebooks, videos, images, and more. Examples of frequently used databases include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and CQ Researcher.
Due date: The date by which you should return items you have borrowed to the library. If you keep a book past the due date, you will receive a notice that the book is late (or overdue) and asking you to return it. Overdue fines are 20 cents per day. Be sure to renew books before they are overdue.
Librarian: A person who works in the library; a specialist in the library and information field. If you are having difficulty finding information, you can ask a librarian for help. She will be happy to work with you one on one.
Library: A place where you can borrow books and find information from articles, databases, and other print and electronic sources for your classes or for pleasure. (Students sometimes confuse library with book store. A book store is a place where you can buy books.)
Loan Period: The length of time for which you can borrow something from the library. At the end of the loan period, you must return the item to the library.
Periodical: A publication (usually a collection of articles) that is issued at regular intervals. Magazines, journals, and newspapers are all periodicals.
Questions: Something you should ask a lot when you are in the library. We are happy to help you!
Reference Books: Both print and online books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries that give overviews and broad information on many topics, a good place to start your research. Print reference books cannot be checked out, but copies can be made. Credo Reference and Britannica Online are excellent online reference sources.
Renew: To extend the loan period on an item; to check an item out again so you can keep it longer.
Research Guides: An online guide to help you find information resources on a topic or for a specific course. Research Guides provide quick links to databases, web sites, citation tools, etc. to help you succeed in your courses.
Reserves: Books and Articles for specific courses that a Professor will place in the Library for you to check out and use while you are there. Ask for Reserve material at the Information Desk.
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.
Expand your vocabulary one day at a time with Merriam-Webster's Word of the Day.