"Once let the black man get upon his person the brass letter, U.S., let him get an eagle on his button, and a musket on his shoulder and bullets in his pocket, there is no power on earth that can deny that he has earned the right to citizenship."
Frederick Douglass
American Civil War Collections. Electronic Text Center University of Virginia Primary source materials including, diaries, letters, and newspapers
Cornell University Library. Making Of America. Civil War - Cvil War Documents and Journals
Research in Military Records: The Civil War - National Archives and Record Administration.
PBS Videos: The Civil War - Includes Ken Burns series (9 episodes)
History.com: The American Civil War - includes Ken Burns series The Civil War - 9 episodes
Civil War and Reconstruction - A documentary perspective on the Civil War and Reconstruction from the National Archives.
Civil War Soldier and Sailor’s System - Searchable database listing all known participants in the Civil War and information on black military participation during the conflict (National Park Service
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - Historic American newspapers (Library of Congress)
Internet Modern History Sourcebook – US Civil War Page Links to primary sources on the U.S. Civil War and related topics
African American Odyssey: The Civil War and Reconstruction Annotated primary documents, including images and manuscripts, with brief introductory essays.
.African American Odyssey-The Civil War (Library of Congresss) includes "Contrabands of War."
The Fight for Equal Rights: Black Soldiers in the Civil War -The National Archives record-based analysis includes links to primary documents - letters, photographs, etc.
History.com: African-American Soldiers in the Civil War Includes videos, photographs, and more
The New South [Port Royal and Beaufort, SC], 1862-1866 - Excellent newspaper resource for the Port Royal experiment.
Preserving the Legacy of the U.S. Colored Troops - National Archives
For more books, search the catalog.
Suggested subjects: United States-History-Civil War, 1861-1865-Participation, African American.
