Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NEW!!!! Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Primary Source Databases
Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Sanborn MapsNorth Carolina
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
Digital Archives/Primary Sources
Primary Sources were written at or near the time of the event, sometimes by eyewitnesses. Some appropriate Primary Sources are listed below. Some are library databases. If you use these from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with a username and password.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress - Images, texts, maps, prints, sheet music and more from the collections of the Library of Congress.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - Digitized newspaper pages from 1836-1922, made available through the Library of Congress and the National Digital Newspaper Program. The database is fully searchable and new pages are being constantly added.
- DigitalNC - North Carolina's Digital Heritage
- Documenting the American South - Primary source materials relating to Southern history.
- Making of America - Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, located at the University of Michigan and Cornell University
- The National Archives - Variety of online exhibits focusing on documents from the NARA collections. Documents include papers, letters, official documents, photographs, and posters.
- National Archives Digital Vaults - online interactive research experience linked to over 1000 documents, images, etc.
- Nineteenth Century in Print - From The Making of America in Prints and Periodicals
- North Carolina Maps - North Carolina Maps is a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State.