Guides & Databases: Business Resources: Company Research

Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for swot and company name. Limit to reports.

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.

EDGAR
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Yahoo! Finance
NAICS
North American Industry Classification System
Global Edge - Company Directories
Company directories from around the world

Is the company public or private?
Use Company Website. Explore Investor Relations, Media/News, Annual Reports.
Find Profile Reports using OneSource, RefUSA, and Business Market Research Databases.
Find journal and magazine articles from ABI/Inform. You can select the company and add terms and date ranges.
Find financial filings and SEC reports using EDGAR (only for public companies)
Identify Competitors and SWOT analysis found in OneSource and ABI/Inform.
If you search online (google) evaluate your information carefully. Many sites are blogs, commercial links, and sources you must pay for.

Information on companies varies greatly depending on if it is public or private.

Public -Companies that offer stocks to the public and trade on the stock market are required to file financial information with the SEC, including the 10-K annual report. You can find a great deal of information on publicly traded companies.
Private-Private companies do not sell stock to the public and are often family owned. They are not required to provide financial information to the public, so it is harder to locate information beyond their website and articles from magazines and newspapers.
International -If an international company trades on the U.S. exchanges, there will be financial reports. Other sources of information could include news articles and the company website.