Guides & Databases: Equine Studies: TH 346 Resources

Proquest Central

Start your article search here! Proquest Central is a great place to search for articles across all subjects. Included are articles that are scholarly and peer-reviewed along with those from magazines and newspapers.

Health and Wellness Databases - Great places for articles on your topic!

Medline Plus
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.
Credo Reference
Reference Articles that provide a great overview of health issues and topics
Family Health Database
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics

CARS Checklist

CARS in a Nutshell

Credibility - trustworthy source, author’s credentials, evidence of quality control, known or respected authority, organizational support. Goal: an authoritative source, a source that supplies some good evidence that allows you to trust it.
Accuracy - up to date, factual, detailed, exact, comprehensive, audience and purpose reflect intentions of completeness and accuracy. Goal: a source that is correct today (not yesterday), a source that gives the whole truth.
Reasonableness - fair, balanced, objective, reasoned, no conflict of interest, absence of fallacies or slanted tone. Goal: a source that engages the subject thoughtfully and reasonably, concerned with the truth.
Support - listed sources, contact information, available corroboration, claims supported, documentation supplied. Goal: a source that provides convincing evidence for the claims made, a source you can triangulate (find at least two other sources that support it).

Start Your Research With These Recommended Information Sites

Office of Rare Diseases Research - National Institutes of Health
Part of the NIH, ORD provides information on 6000+ rare diseases, inclduing current research, articles from scientific and medical journals, completed research, ongoing studies, and patient support groups. Includes information from GARD: Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center.

Begin your research on rare diseases, genetic disorders, and disabilities using these broad databases. These sites contain credible information by trusted sources.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
NINDS conducts, fosters, coordinates, and guides research on the causes, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of neurological disorders and stroke, and supports basic research in related scientific areas.
Genetics Home Reference (NIH)
The National Library of Medicine’s web site for consumer information about genetic conditions
NORD - National Organization for Rare Disorders
NORD's Rare Disease Database provides information on more than 1,200 rare diseases.
To download a report from the database, simply go through our brief registration process. This will enable you to download two reports of your choice in a 24-hour period.
Genetic Alliance
Includes links to more than 1,000 disease-specific advocacy organizations, as well as thousands of universities, private companies, government agencies, and public policy organizations
National Institute of Mental Health
Information provided by the lead Federal agency for research on mental and behavioral disorders
Medline Plus
Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC. gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on a variety of health topics.

Specific Disorders and Diseases - Organizations and Advocacy Sites

These sites are maintained by organizations related to specific types of disorders and diseases. Most include advocacy information in addition to some research links.